The Bencubbin 400 Wrap

The 2017 Marsue Transport Bencubbin 400 saw a huge field of 39 starters on the WA Day long weekend (3-4 June 2017). The event was Round 3 of the 2017 CAMS, Carnarvon Motel, Western Australian Off-Road Racing Championship, and Round 2 of the 2017 WAORRA Club Championship Series, meaning both State and multi-club entry options were available, opening up options to a wider field of competitors.

Racing on Day 1 saw some close racing with just seconds between some competitors. The close racing continued early on Day 2, however the compulsory 30 minute pit stop shook things up a bit, with competitors allowed to either utilise the pit stops or have 30 minutes added to their total time. You can read the full race report on the WAORC website.

As the checkered flag fell on Day 2, we congratulated 14 finishers with a special mention to the following outright winners:

  • 1st – Harleigh Uren (77)
  • 2nd – Nathaniel Edwards, Luke McLean and Charlie Edwards (161)
  • 3rd – Jared Percival and Darren Beckett (119)

The lucky winners of our raffle were:

  • 1st Prize (swag) – Aaron Smithson
  • 2nd Prize (solar lights) – Harold Eatts
  • 3rd Prize – (Top Gear merch pack) – Mal Yeardley

Thanks to Chris Unstead/Solajoule for donating the solar lights, and to Aaron Dark/Firowcious Designs for donating the Top Gear merch pack. Make sure you check out their Facebook pages and give them a like!

Now as the dust settles on the sandalwood trees and newly planted crops in the Shire of Mount Marshall, we’d like to thank everyone who made this event possible:

Event Organiser:  Andrew Sawyer.
Stewards:  Naomi Jennings and Paul Simpson.
Officials:  Jon Beer, Shelley Howe, Alistair Colley, Aaron Dark, Bob Dark, Jamie McArthur and Steve Sawyer.
Timekeepers:  Barry Doney, Lachlan Cowan and Sean Beck.
Sweep:  Kevin Hood.
Rovers:  Dirk VanGeest, Kym Howard, Daniel Smith, Nicholas VanGeest, Craig, Linda and Kristy.
SOS: Ben and Team Hotel.
Ambulance:  Saint John’s Ambulance
Spectator Marshalls:  Peer Horn, Glen Kell, Harold Eatts and Anita Walters.
Friday Night Scrutineering crew:  Big Al, Gary Howe, Bob Dark, John Flynn and Blake Pugh.
Documentation:  Shelley Howe, Danni Joyce, Jenny Honey and Hannah Troughton.
Shire:  Sally Morgan, Andrew Johnson and Michael Kett.
Farmers:  Pedro Sachse, Nick Gillet, Nathan Brooks, Tim Stevenson, Terry Gobbart, Steve Kett, Kevin Kett and Bob Kett.
Food and Bar:  Tracey and Sharon Kett.
Track Markers:  Craig Sachse for the tyres, Hannah Troughton, Steve Sawyer, Aaron Dark, Bob Dark, Jamie McArthur, Brad Krepp, Kerry Yaxley, Russ Cullen and Jon Beer.
Packing up:  Aaron Dark, Steve Sawyer, Jamie McArthur, Team Hotel, Gary Howe, Big Al, John Flynn, Nathaniel and Crew, Mark Jarret and Crew, Dave Percival and Harley Uren and Crew.

With a huge thank you to our event sponsors:

As well as series sponsor and contingency sponsors:

We now turn our sights to our next event on 19-20 August – Round 4 of the 2017 CAMS, Carnarvon Motel WA Off-Road Racing Championship, and Round 3 of the 2017 WAORRA Club Championship. We will have a brand new track to unveil, so keep an eye on our website and Facebook page for all the details!

Kim Yaxley,
WAORRA President.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photos: Martin Gepperth and Emma Scott