2016 WAORRA Club Championship Awards

Our annual awards presentation night was held on Saturday 19 November. Congratulations to all of the 2016 champions and award winners!

The 2016 WAORRA Awards Presentation Night was held at the Glen Iris Bar and Restaurant in Jandakot. Club members, friends and family enjoyed a four course meal and were entertained by Perth comedian Cameron McLaren (aka Cam from Midland). You can catch his shows at the Fringe World Festival running in Perth from 20 Jan to 19 Feb 2017.

Congratulations to raffle prize winners Andrew Pugh who won a Thunderbox battery box; Celeste Baxter who won an OZ-PIG camping stove; Corey Smith who won an 8ltr Engel thermo cooler/warmer; and Kylie Giles who took home a cooler bag. Massive thanks to Lyons Airconditioning Kewdale for the donations – you can find them at 157 Chisholm Cres, Kewdale or online www.lyonsaircon.com.au.

And who can forget bloody Emma Scott who won yet another prize, taking home the door prize of a weekend getaway at Preston Beach. Let’s hope that ends her lucky streak!

Thanks to the Glen Iris Bar and Restaurant for the great food and bar service, Sports Director Ben Armstrong for organising trophies and awards, and Social Director Emma Scott for organising the event and raffle prizes.

And the winners were:

2016 Club Champions – By Class

Pro Buggy
1st Driver Grant Payne
2nd Driver Brad Cooper
3rd Driver Mark Cramer
1st Navigator Michael Gulloto
2nd Navigator Reece Burgess
3rd Navigator Arron Smithson
Prolite Buggy
1st Driver Brett Smith
2nd Driver Bernard Holt
3rd Driver Mal Yeardley
1st Navigator Corey Smith
2nd Navigator Michael Davis
3rd Navigator Corrina Draper
Super 1650 Buggy
1st Driver Aaron Dark
2nd Driver Dave Cowan
3rd Driver Nathaniel Edwards
1st Navigator Robert Dark
2nd Navigator Alex Cowan
3rd Navigator Donna Edwards
Performance 2WD
1st Driver Jordan Russell
1st Navigator Nathan Russell
Extreme 2WD
1st Driver Barry Cochrane
2nd Driver Greg Pickersgill
1st Navigator Greg Finlay
2nd Navigator Ian Murray
Production 4WD
1st Driver Ben Armstrong
2nd Driver Trevor Pike
3rd Driver Steven Baxter
1st Navigator David Turner
2nd Navigator Andy Kingscott
3rd Navigator Conner Pike
Extreme 4WD
1st Driver Leigh Cooper
2nd Driver Russell Cullen
3rd Driver Brad Krepp
1st Navigator Jade Armstrong
2nd Navigator Daniel Fahey
3rd Navigator Kerry Yaxley

2016 Club Champions – Overall

2WD Champion Barry Cochrane
4WD Champion Ben Armstrong
Buggy Champion Brett Smith
Navigator of the Year Corey Smith
Encouragement Award Danielle Joyce
Lynn Hutchinson Memorial President’s Award Shelley Howe
Club Member of the Year Kim Yaxley
Club Champion Brett Smith

Check out the full points score:

You can also view the photos from the night on Facebook. If you have any photos to share please get in touch with our media officer via Facebook or info@waorra.com.

Thanks to everyone who came along to celebrate a great year of racing!

Photo: Deanna Smith