2017 WAORRA Club and Buggy Champion - Harleigh Uren - One Speed Off Road Racing

2018 WAORRA Championship Series

The WAORRA Championship Series is back for 2018! Following the same format as last year, we will be running three multi-club events in a championship round – perfect for entry-level racers, people who like to save a few dollars on entry fees, or people who can’t commit to the full State series due to work or family commitments.

2018 Events News

2018 Triennial Vehicle Inspections

In accordance with CAMS, Australian Off Road Commission (AORCom) requirements, all competing vehicles are required to have a thorough inspection by a qualified scrutineer once every three years.

We are holding an inspection for all WA competitors on Saturday 3 February 2018 to make sure vehicles are ready to race in time for the first event of the 2018 off-road racing season.
Bookings are essential – please check your log books and let us know if your vehicle is due for an inspection by Thursday 1 Feb. 
2018 Events News
Come along to the WAORRA Club Meeting

First Club Meeting of 2018

Happy new year to all of our members! We hope you had a great xmas and new years, and are back in action ready to start the 2018 racing season.

Our first club meeting of the year will be held on Tuesday 9 January at the Mills Park Centre, 86 Brixton Street, Beckenham.

Where will the road lead us in 2018?

Where will the road lead us in 2018?

Following recent nominations by members, voting is now open for all 2018 WAORRA Committee positions.

Voting is online this year – if you are a rent member, you should have received an email with a link to the online voting system. If you did not receive an email, please send an email to us at info@waorra.com to update your contact details.

Voting closes Monday 13 November and successful candidates will be announced at the AGM on Tuesday 14 November.

Make your vote count and help us to continue to be the biggest and best club in the west!

WAORRA Annual General Meeting AGM

Annual General Meeting

Our 2017 Annual General Meeting will be held at the Mills Park Centre, 86 Brixton Street Beckenham, from 7:30pm on Tuesday 14 November 2017.

The meeting will start with the last club meeting of the year followed by the AGM, where we provide a wrap up of this year’s events. All Committee positions will then be vacated, the results of the secret ballot online votes will be announced and the new Committee will be sworn in.

Agenda and minutes from previous meetings are available in the Documents section of our secure, members-only Team App site – go to https://waorra.teamapp.com/.

All WAORRA members and visitors are invited to attend, so come down, have your say and get involved!

Add this event your Facebook calendar.


Winners of the 2017 WAORRA, Cochrane's Transport Mid-West Challenge - 151 Nathaniel Edwards and Luke McLean

The Mid-West Challenge Wrap

The WAORRA, Cochrane’s Transport Mid-West Challenge took place over the weekend of 19-20 August 2017 and lived up to its name being a challenge for competitors.

The event was Round 4 of the 2017 CAMS, Carnarvon Motel Western Australian Off-Road Racing Championship and Round 3 of the WAORRA Club Championship Series, catering to both State and Multi-Club entrants.  The brand new track was tough for most competitors, and the hungry, sandy conditions turned the field on its head. There were plenty of dramas with Chris Unstead puncturing a tyre in Section 1, Mal Yeardley rolling his Prolite Buggy in Section 2, and Harleigh Uren having engine troubles in Section 3.

12 competitors managed to complete the event from 32 starters, and although Brad Cooper crossed the line in third place, it wasn’t enough to bump Harleigh Uren off the dirt podium. In the end the top three were:

1st – Nathaniel Edwards and Luke McLean (161)
2nd – Harleigh Uren (77)
3rd – Mark and Sam Cramer (932)

Congratulations Nathaniel and Luke for their first ever State Championship win! For the full race report, check out the WAORC website. You can also check out the full list of results on the My Race Result website.

Our raffle was a big hit, with John Flynn taking home the trolley jack and stands (thanks to Total Tools Rockingham), farm manager Steve “Tonka” Thomas taking home the Kincrome portable speaker (thanks to Auto One Kwinana), and the Doneys taking home the hamper. We hope you enjoy your prizes! Thanks to Blake Pugh, Shelley Howe and Elsie Schoen for helping to put the raffle together and selling the tickets.

As always our events are not possible without the efforts of so many treasured volunteers and we’d like to thank the following people:

Event organisers: Russ Cullen, Dave Cowan, Charlie Edwards and Kim Yaxley.
Stewards: Rod Pearson and Lyndon Sperring.
Officials: Jon Beer, Dave Cowan and Steve Phillips.
Timekeepers: Lachlan Cowan and Barry Doney.
Documentation: Shelley Howe, Kim Yaxley and Danni Joyce.
Scrutineer: Rex West.
Sweep: Kevin Hood.
Rovers: Russ Cullen, Shane Yaxley, Kim Howard and Kelvin Stacey.
SOS/Recovery: Dirk van Geest (without his high-range radios we would not have had communications) and Team Hotel.
Track Marking: Steve Baxter, Shane Yaxley, Mitch Cowan and Harleigh Uren.
Farmers: Property Owner Michael Angi and Farm Manager Steve “Tonka” Thomas.
Canteen: Badgingarra Roadhouse Catering Crew.

Special thanks to Steve and Celeste Baxter, Kevin Hood, Rex West and families for staying overnight and helping with the final pack up. We’d also like to acknowledge the efforts of Charlie Edwards and Mark Jarrett for providing the excavating equipment and the whole track prep crew – these guys put a lot of man hours into making a track out of an unused property and were up at the property for several weekends in the lead up to the event. And last but not least, we’d like to say a huge thank you to event sponsor Cochrane’s Transport and series and contingency sponsors Carnarvon Motel, Oricom and Intense LED Australia.

If you’d like to be an event organiser, official or sponsor at one of our events next year, please come along to a club meeting and let us know you’re interested. We’d love to hear from you and would be more than happy to help with any licencing or enquiries you might have.

Although this was WAORRA’s last event for the year, we’ll be heading to the next event on the WAORC calendar – the Three Springs 360 on the September long weekend. Hope to see you there!

Missed out on the action? Check out the following links:

Photo: Vince Doran

2016 WAORRA Club Champions

Time to Return Perpetual Trophies

Calling all 2016 WAORRA Club Championship winners…

If you were awarded with a perpetual trophy last year, please return it to Sports Director Ben Armstrong so it can be engraved and awarded to the 2017 champion at this year’s awards night.

Trophies can be returned to Ben at the club meeting on Tuesday 12 September or at Three Springs on 23-24 September. If you can’t get along to either of these, call Ben on 0437 789 853 to make alternative arrangements.

Congratulations once again to all who took home a club championship trophy last year. For the full list of winners, see the 2016 WAORRA Club Championship Awards news article.

Sorry, this event has been cancelled

WAORRA Uncorked


Unfortunately due to low numbers, we have had to cancel the wine tour on 22 July. Keep an eye on our website and Facebook page for future social events.